St. Louis, MO. – The Innovative Technology Education Fund (ITEF) awarded $177,392.83 to eight area schools, grants ranging from $10,605 to $30,000. These competitive Catapult Grants allow schools in our region to obtain basic technology and level the technological playing field for K-12 students.

The 2021 Catapult Grant recipients are:

  • Brittany Woods Middle School (School District of University City): Funds will cover Chromebooks and carts for students to collaborate asynchronously on PBL-related assignments. Awarded: $18,809.97
  • Froebel Literacy Academy (St. Louis Public Schools):  Educators will engage in enhanced weekly professional learning through use of new Promethean whiteboards. Awarded:  $22,999.93
  • Gateway MST Elementary School (St. Louis Public Schools):  Special education students will have access to new classroom tools that support and accelerate their learning. Awarded:  $30,000
  • Northwest R-1 High School (Northwest R-1 School District): Funds will provide the opportunity for students to increase their communications and marketing expertise through the purchase of thirty laptops. Awarded:  $28,890.00
  • St. Francis of Assisi School (parochial):  The school will upgrade their WiFi connectivity and bandwidth to ensure consistent internet access throughout the campus. Awarded:  $19,413.94
  • St. Mark Catholic School (parochial):  Three classrooms will install interactive display boards; K-2nd students will receive tablets. Awarded:  $10,605.00
  • Vashon High School (St. Louis Public Schools):  The school will increase its capacity for asynchronous learning across classrooms well as enhanced use of the library. Awarded:  $22,180.99
  • Walbridge STEAM Academy (St. Louis Public Schools): Ten interactive smart boards will be installed to deepen student learning and increase educator access to online resources. Awarded: $24,493.00

“It is impossible for an educator to be innovative when they lack the basic equipment necessary for modern pedagogy. The Catapult grant makes space for the educators who want to explore innovative teaching and learning in their virtual or actual classroom.” said Charmaine Smith, Chief Executive Officer of ITEF. “We know that by providing resources for basic technology, we can remove barriers to innovation. All Catapult grant recipients are expected to apply for an Innovator’s Grant within three years of their award.”

ITEF is a St. Louis-based, charitable, non-profit foundation that supports innovation in education by funding basic technology through the Catapult initiative, that leads to advanced uses of technology in public, private, parochial, and charter school classrooms in the greater St. Louis area. ITEF also provides grants for professional development.

Since 2008, ITEF has provided more than $4 million in grants to St. Louis-area schools. Introduced in 2019, the Catapult grant was created to ensure more schools are supported with funds for basic technology, ensuring innovation can occur without equipment or technology restraints.

ITEF board members select grant recipients from a pool of eligible applicants who meet requirements including being an accredited K-12 public, private, charter, or parochial school in the greater St. Louis region.